Author Topic
Page: of 2

dkriley47

17 Posts
Kayleigh
Rushville OH
United states

Posted - Mar 26 2017 :  06:36:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi I'm Kayleigh and I bought my first Jersey heifer last fall and she will freshen mid May! She is halter broke and does well with that but she has a head butting issue. She is not good with my kids and will head butt my 8 year old. She is a2a1 has nice long teats for milking she was a natural milk fed calf so he doesn't have that pit belly. She is beautiful cow and has kept a great body condition. I registered her and she is to have a heifer calf and her calf will be a2a2. I'm concerned about keeping her Bc she isn't good with the kids but I want that registered a2a2 calf from her. Suggestions? I have read the milk cow kitchen took notes I think I'm ready. I'm a beef farmer so the dairy thing is new to me. Thanks you for adding me and can't wait to use this forum! I will be once a day milking.

Kay Riley

maryjane

7072 Posts

Posted - Mar 26 2017 :  07:56:28 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome Kayleigh!!!!

Having a cow around that's not kid-friendly is problematic for me also as I have four grandgirls. I had a cow once that did that. I think she thought the little kids were dangerous dogs or something. Anyway, I did enjoy her milk but knew I needed to ended up in the long-run with cows that I trusted around kids which is my present situation. Kicking and/or head-using cows are for adults only.

MaryJane Butters, author of Milk Cow Kitchen ~ striving for the stoicism of a cow standing in the rain ~
Go to Top of Page

dkriley47

17 Posts
Kayleigh
Rushville OH
United states

Posted - Mar 26 2017 :  08:16:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote