New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Topic  

SpringMaiden1

27 Posts

Posted - Jun 02 2016 :  7:39:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My girls are out on 10 acres of beautiful spring grass. Do I still need to
supplement their diets? One girl is six weeks away from calving and the other
is still being nursed by her (way too old) calf.

I had separated the calf for a month and then my milk machine broke down.
I just cannot milk her more than 20 minutes. I'm 65 and don't have the
strength to continue any longer than that so I let the calf back out. She was
giving me 2 1/2 gal in the mornings and I didn't do better than a couple of
quarts. I wanted to continue getting the milk but at this point I just need to
dry her up so I can AI her. She was too thin before but the spring grass is
helping fatten her up. How do you suggest I dry her up? I'm totally new at this.

I also was having a hard time figuring out how to post in the right area.

Thanks for all your help.

CloversMum

3486 Posts

Posted - Jun 02 2016 :  9:18:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There is a post that Cindy started (txbikergirl) that talks all about drying off a cow. I'll try to get the link.

Loving life and family on our Idaho farm, Meadowlark Heritage Farm; A few Jersey cows; a few alpacas; a few more goats, and even more ducks and chickens
Go to Top of Page

maryjane

7072 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2016 :  06:20:40 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
https://www.heritagejersey.org/chatroom/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=11426

MaryJane Butters, author of Milk Cow Kitchen ~ striving for the stoicism of a cow standing in the rain ~
Go to Top of Page

maryjane

7072 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2016 :  06:44:11 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Also, you might look into this milking machine for getting up and running again easily:

https://heritagejersey.org/chatroom/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5242

MaryJane Butters, author of Milk Cow Kitchen ~ striving for the stoicism of a cow standing in the rain ~